Local Walks

Important note for 2020-2021: Due to the social distancing regulations, the university has mandated that all local walks must have a maximum capacity of six participants (including the walk leader). To enforce this we will be implementing a sign-up system using SuperSaas, which will be circulated through our mailing list.

Local walks bring you around Oxford and beyond and is a great and easy way to see the countryside and other local attractions. All walks either start in Oxford’s city centre or use public transport (bus/train) to get to the starting point. There is no need to book your place in advance, just turn up on time!

Everyone is very welcome, you do not need to be a member of the club to come on local walks (although there are other benefits to being a member).

Local Walks Michaelmas 2020

Local walks are run on weekends during term time. They are open to anyone and no membership is required, however due to the social distancing regulations we used a sign-up system with a maximum capacity of five participants (plus the leader). Sign-up for walks on each weekend opens on Monday of each week, and will be circulated via our mailing list. Please note the following schedule is tentative; further walks, modifications and further details will be added as the term progresses.
  • Freshers’ Walk: Banbury Figure of Eight, Saturday 10th October
  • Seven Shires Way Part I, Saturday 10th October
  • Freshers’ Walk: Exploring Oxford and beyond, Sunday 11th October
  • Bessels Leigh and Cumnor, Saturday 17th October
  • Final Stage of the Ridgeway, Saturday 17th October
  • Wytham Woods Navigation Training, Sunday 18th October
  • Blenheim Circular, Saturday 18th October
  • Exploring the Cotswolds, Sunday 25th October
  • Navigation Training, Sunday 1st November
  • Otmoor Bird Sanctuary, Sunday 1st November
  • Exploring the Berkshire Hills, Saturday 7th November
  • Chilterns Circular, Sunday 8th November
  • Islip and Water Eaton, Saturday 14th November
  • Reading to Goring, Sunday 15th November
  • Uffington White Horse, Saturday 21st November
  • Reading to Henley, Sunday 22nd November
  • Great Malvern, Sunday 29th November
  • Marathon Walk, Sunday 29th November
Posted in , | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Click for more:

Comments are closed.