Michaelmas Term 2016 Local walks

  1. Amazing Abingdon : Sunday 16th October (end of Week 1)
  2. Mr Toad to Mr Poirot : Saturday 22nd October (end of Week 2)
  3. Charlbury to Blenheim Palace : Sunday 30th October (end of Week 3)
  4. Wytham Woods and Farmoor Reservoir : Sunday 6th November (end of Week 4)
  5. ***CANCELLED***Down to the River We Walk. Thames Path from Newbridge to Oxford : Saturday 12th November (end of Week 5)***CANCELLED***
  6. Kingham to Charlbury : Saturday 19th November (end of Week 6)
  7. Dawdle to Dorchester : Sunday 27th November (end of Week 7) – PLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF DATE
  8. Cholsey to Goring via Wallingford : Saturday 3rd December (end of Week 8)
  9. ***CANCELLED***Check out the Chilterns : Saturday 10th December (end of Week 9)***CANCELLED
  10. Walk the Windrush : Saturday 17th December

Amazing Abingdon

Date: Saturday 22nd July This walk follows the river Thames, slowly winding through the meadows towards Abingdon. We pass the formidable ruins of the Benedictine Abingdon Abbey overseeing the river, and complete our journey in Abingdon, St Edmund’s birthplace.  The buses can take us back to Oxford every ~15 minutes, so people have the option to stay in Abingdon for some sightseeing, pub, coffee etc. There is no need to sign up, just arrive at the meeting point on the day. There may be mud in places, so walking boots/shoes are strongly advised. Meet: Outside Tesco on St Aldates Time: 11am Return: Approx. 4pm Distance: 16km (10 miles) Cost: £4 for bus back from Abingdon Lunch: Please bring a packed lunch Leader: Chris Grace (chris.grace.work@googlemail.com)

Continue reading