The Forest of Wychwood

This will be a relaxed circular walk from Charlbury, taking in the ancient forest of Wychwood and surrounding countryside. Wychwood is the largest continuous wood in Oxfordshire, even though it is now much smaller than it was in medieval times, and provides some of the area’s finest walking. We might spot some of the deer that roam the woodland – there are three different kinds! Meet: Train Station Time: 9:10 to take the 9:24 train to Charlbury (20 min journey) Return: approx 17:30 Distance: 15 km Cost: £6.20 return Lunch: please bring your own packed lunch Leader: Olya Tkachenko (olga.tkachenko@sjc.ox.ac.uk)

Continue reading

Trinity Term 2016’s Local Walks

The Oxford Canal and Cherwell: Saturday 23rd April (end 0th week) Walk the Wonderful Windrush: Saturday 30th April (end 1st week) Windsor Great: Saturday 7th May (end 2nd week) A Roman Roam: Saturday 14th May (end 3rd week) Woburn Sands circular – Joint OUWC/CURAC walk: Saturday 21st May (end 4th week) Check out the Chilterns: Saturday 28th May (end 5th week) The Forest of Wychwood: Saturday 4th June (end 6th week) Cholsey to Pangbourne via Wallingford: Saturday 11th June (end 7th week) Varsity march: Saturday 18th – Sunday 19th June (end 8th week) Cotswold Classics : Saturday 16th July Walk the Wonderful Windrush : Saturday 23rd July

Continue reading